Whole30 Week 3 Recap

We have made it to week 4 of our very first Whole30!!  No one has died.  There have been no hangry outbursts and I have been drinking my coffee without sweetener.  THAT is impressive, my friends.  I’m not necessarily feeling the “tiger blood” energy awesomeness yet but I blame that on a 5 month old baby and still having to be up until 11:30 for nursing/pumping.  (I’ll post more on my Whole30 & breastfeeding experience later but just a heads up to all you nursing moms out there, I’ve had continued success).

This process has been a great learning experience and one I’m grateful for.  And although this post is already feeling like some kind of good-bye, I don’t see this as our last week of a diet.  It seems more like a transition period into a new lifestyle.  I plan on continuing to eat and live this way.  But for now, let me fill you in on what’s been going on.  Week 3 brought about some interesting manifestations – can we say CRAVINGS?? I was warned about this in the Whole30 timeline and like clockwork, the sugar dragon reared its ugly head and my brain tried to stage a full on rebellion against my new healthy habits.  I can’t tell you how many times my husband and I have opened the Nutella jar just to take a whiff of that chocolately-hazelnutty-tastes good on everything but is not so good for you- deliciousness.  But alas….we just sigh a big sigh and like pouting children, put the lid back on and walk away.

Along with food cravings, a not so welcome monster also joined us last week – food boredom.   A known killer to many diets and healthy eating wanna-be’s, food boredom is a dangerous beast.  So I tried some new recipes to liven things up a bit, but sadly they were not as successful as I’d hoped.  Cauliflower “rice” is not rice.  It will never BE rice no matter how many sauces, seasonings, or magic spells I add to it.  And pork?  Unless it’s bacon, which I’m not even eating right now, I think we are gonna have to break up for a while.  We won’t even discuss scrambled eggs.

What has gone right?  Steak.  When all else fails, there is nothing better than a big juicy medium rare steak and that’s how we ended the week.  Yum.Yum. Yum again.  (Btw, I’m sure you’ve noticed by now that if you are a vegetarian, you probably will not survive the Whole30.  It’s built around quality animal protein and excludes legumes and grains, which are staples of a vegetarian diet.  Sorry!)  But for all you meat-eaters out there considering a Whole30, you can always fall back on a delicious piece of grilled, protein-rich meat!

image

That brings me back full circle to meal planning for week 4 where the cravings have subsided a bit and we are keeping things more simple.  I’m taking some basics and just altering them to fit Whole30.  Marinated grilled chicken, spaghetti with either spaghetti squash or zucchini noodles, buffalo chicken tenders….you get the idea.  As much as I love to cook and try new things it’s quite easy to overcomplicate this and therefore spend a ton of time in the kitchen.  That’s not sustainable for most working, busy families.  As soon as your cravings go away and you let go of the notion that you have to recreate all these things you can’t have or find something else to fill it’s place, you’ll realize this Whole30 thing doesn’t have to be that hard.  Quality meat + veggies + healthy fat = meal.

We got this.

3 thoughts on “Whole30 Week 3 Recap

Leave a Reply

